. . .

Wondering where you can and cannot fly your drone in New Zealand?

Check out the maps below to find out.

The red transparent areas are control zones. Control zones are managed by Air Traffic Control and extend down to ground level. Green area image The green areas are Military Operating Areas. Permission from the Administering Authority is required.
Blue circled area The blue circled areas indicate a 4km radius around aerodromes. Blue circled area image The bright blue areas are Restricted Areas. Permission from the Administering Authority is required.
Orange area image The orange areas are Low Flying Zones. UAVs are not permitted to fly in any Low Flying Zones.


Military Operating Areas and Restricted Areas include height data in the pop-up tags. To help you understand this information we have included a key below:

SFC = Surface

FL660 = Flight Level 66,000FT



Please note:

  • These maps are intended to depict published aerodromes, aerodrome control zones, Low Flying Zones, Military Operating Areas and Restricted Areas only. Upper level controlled airspace is not depicted which is above 400 feet outside a control zone. There are other types of special use airspace areas such as Danger Areas, which are permanent and also temporary notified via Notices to Airmen (NOTAM).

Disclaimer Message

Important: The information contained on The KiwiAsylum is provided for information purposes only and is not to be relied on as a substitute for a comprehensive knowledge of the relevant laws (including all rules, regulations and by-laws (including the Civil Aviation Rules)) that apply to the operation of UAVs. It is your responsibility to read and understand all such laws and operate any UAVs in accordance with them.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!